What is SR-22 Insurance in Arkansas?
An SR-22 in Arkansas is a certificate proving that a high-risk driver has the legal requirements for car insurance in Arkansas. Many drivers fail to choose high-risk car insurance and end up being penalized with fines. But, this certificate is issued when the law requires.
SR-22 insurance can make your license suspended and raise your car insurance rates by $87 a year in Arkansas. In addition, there’s often a fee of $15 to $25 for filing the required documentation with state authorities. Arkansas law requires your SR-22 to be maintained with the state’s licensing agency for 3-5 years.
Lapsed coverage can cause problems like this. If your policy is cancelled for a certain period, your insurance company will be obligated to report you to the state. Your SR-22 period resets in that case, and you are required to pay any SR-22-related fees again.
If you are required to file a SR-22 due to a DUI or DWI charge, then your SR-22 period resets. This means that you will be required to pay any SR-22 related fees again.
What You Need to Know About SR-22 Insurance in Arkansas
Who Needs SR-22 Insurance in Arkansas
In Arkansas, drivers who are found guilty of significant traffic offences must provide SR-22 proof. Other serious offenses on the list include DUI, hit-and-run, and careless driving.
How Much Does SR-22 Insurance Raise Premiums in Arkansas
In Arkansas, an SR-22 raises the cost of car insurance by about $87. That amounts to around 15% more than what a typical Arkansan pays for auto insurance.
What is Minimum SR-22 Car Insurance Coverage in Arkansas
Drivers must carry a minimum of $20,000 in property damage liability insurance in addition to $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person ($50,000 per accident).
How to File SR-22 Documentation in Arkansas
The SR-22 certificate will be submitted on your behalf to the state by your insurance provider. You must maintain continuous coverage under your insurance policy for the next three to five years.
How does car insurance work in Arkansas
Since Arkansas is an at-fault state, the driver who caused the collision is liable for the costs of treating all accident victims. Even if the insured purchases personal injury protection, the right to sue after an accident is unaffected in at-fault states (PIP).
In Arkansas, drivers must have property damage liability insurance of at least $25,000 and bodily injury liability insurance of up to $50,000 per accident. Liability insurance pays the other motorist’s expenditures when an insured driver causes an accident.
In Arkansas, the cost of the bare minimum of coverage is $1,291, but there are a lot of variables that might alter your final bill. It is optional to purchase additional protection over and above what is mandated by Arkansas law, although it is typically worthwhile to do so. The primary reason is that your personal car is not protected by the state’s minimal coverage. You’ll need complete coverage if you want your insurance to cover car damage.
When you are looking for SR-22 insurance in Arkansas
When you are looking for SR-22 insurance in Arkansas, it is important to find a policy that fits your needs. There are many different types of SR-22 insurance available, and you want to make sure you get the right policy for your situation. Here are some things to consider when shopping for SR-22 insurance in Arkansas:
- The type of vehicle you drive: If you have a high-powered sports car, you will need a different type of SR-22 insurance than someone who drives a more modest car. Sports cars are considered higher risk and will therefore require higher premiums.
- Your driving record: Your driving record will be taken into account when determining your rates. If you have had tickets or accidents in the past, you can expect to pay more for your SR-22 insurance.
- Your credit score: Your credit score is also used to determine your rates. If you have good credit, you will likely get a lower rate than someone with poor credit.
Once you have considered these factors, you can start shopping around for SR-22 insurance in Arkansas. There are many different companies that offer this type of coverage, so be sure to compare rates and coverage options before choosing a policy.
How to Get an SR22 Insurance in Arkansas
Insurers in Arkansas need to be connected to the same system the CAR Division uses. The insurance companies mentioned can take advantage of the system and they charge a flat rate of $850. There are no negotiations with these companies so when you shop make sure they can repair your car brand.
When it comes to your car insurance policy, one of the most important things to look for is SR-22 insurance. SR-22 insurance is a type of car insurance that is required by the state of Arkansas in order to prove that you are financially responsible for your vehicle. Without this proof, your driver’s license could be suspended.
There are a few different ways to get SR-22 insurance in Arkansas. You can purchase it through your own car insurance company, or you can get it through an independent provider. If you decide to go with an independent provider, make sure that they are licensed to do business in Arkansas and that they offer SR-22 insurance.
Once you have obtained SR-22 insurance, you will need to maintain it for a certain period of time. In most cases, you will need to keep your policy active for three years. However, if you are involved in an accident or if your driving record improves, you may be able to cancel your policy early.
SR-22 insurance in Arkansas costs an average
Arkansas is a great state for finding SR-22 insurance. There are many insurers that offer this type of insurance, and the rates are typically very reasonable. The most important thing to remember when shopping for SR-22 insurance is to make sure that the policy covers all of the required items.
In Arkansas, the average cost of SR-22 insurance is $679 annually, a 15% premium above the cost of regular auto insurance. Depending on the insurance provider, filing an SR-22 form in Arkansas might cost between $15 and $25 in addition to a higher premium.
Which Arkansas Insurance Company Provides the Cheapest SR22 Insurance
A significant traffic violation will inevitably result in an annual premium increase as the insurance company will view the driver as a high risk. The median annual cost of an SR-22 policy that complies with the minimum Arkansas requirements is $1,087, which is 82.4% more than the $596 average annual fee for a driver with a clean record.
Drivers in Arkansas who have submitted forms SR-22 still have access to affordable insurance options.
The cheapest SR-22 insurance rates in Arkansas are provided by the Southern Farm Bureau, costing an average of $481 for drivers with DUIs.
Arkansas Cheapest SR-22 Insurance Companies
- Southern Farm Bureau $481
- USAA $557
- State Farm $558
- Progressive $678
- Farmers $710
- Allstate $772
- Nationwide $932
- AAA $1,128
- GEICO $1,134
- Travelers $1,588
- Shelter $1,720
- MetLife $2,790
SR22 Insurance by State
|Indiana||New Mexico||Washington D.C|
|Iowa||New York||West Virginia|