Delaware is one of six states that do not require SR-22 insurance. You may be wondering why this is the case and what SR-22 insurance is in the first place. SR-22 insurance is a certificate of financial responsibility that proves to the state that you have the minimum liability insurance required by law.
One of the most common reasons that a person must file an SR-22 insurance certificate is following a license suspension for driving under the influence. If you have been arrested for driving.
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Delaware, you will be required to participate in the ignition interlock device program in order to have your driving privileges reinstated. While there are no SR-22 requirements, all drivers must carry minimum liability insurance coverage. The minimum required coverage in Delaware is $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $10,000 for property damage per accident.
What is an SR-22 Insurance in Delaware
Delaware doesn’t require SR-22 insurance. However, sometimes a person will have to file an SR-22 with their local DMV as part of their reinstatement requirements after a DUI or DWI arrest. This is especially true if you do not own your car and also file an SR-22 for life insurance purposes. There are different types of Delaware SR-22 forms, depending on what kind of certificate your insurer gives you when your policy is issued, but that does not necessarily mean that one type is better than another for your unique circumstance.
Delaware doesn’t require SR-22 coverage
Many states require drivers to carry SR-22 forms after they have had their license suspended or revoked. Delaware doesn’t impose any such requirement. There is a state statute that requires motorists who have had their license suspended for DUI to purchase either a continuous coverage policy or a bond of $500 per year for three years (total of $1,500) from an insurance company authorized to do business in Delaware. Other than that, no further requirements are imposed on drivers with regard to maintaining insurance.
Who needs SR-22 Insurance in Delaware
As stated on Delaware’s official DMV website: Any person who receives a Delaware operator’s license for a non-commercial vehicle and who has been convicted of two or more serious traffic offenses within any 12 month period must file with the Division an SR-22 form, proof of financial responsibility and/or surety bond. These traffic offenses include: reckless driving, hit and run, habitual offenders, leaving scene of accident involving injury or death, DUI and DWI. If you do not have a commercial driver’s license (CDL), you are required to have these forms if convicted.
Is SR-22 Car Insurance Required in Delaware
In Delaware, you are not required to have an SR-22. However, if you were required to carry one in another state, you must continue to do so in Delaware. Failure to maintain your SR-22 auto insurance can result in your license being suspended from the state that requires you to have a SR-22 car insurance form on file.
How Do I File a Delaware SR-22 Car Insurance Form
If you’re driving with an out-of-state license in Delaware, you may be wondering if you need to get a Delaware license. The good news is that you don’t need one! You can continue to drive on your out-of-state license as long as it’s valid.
However, there are a few things to keep in mind. First, you should always carry your license with you when you’re driving. That way, if you get pulled over, you
Moving to a state requiring an SR-22
Many drivers don’t realize that if they’ve been convicted of a major driving offense in Delaware, they may need an insurer to file an SR-22 form for them if they move to a state that requires it.
If you’re moving to a new state and have an SR-22 certificate, you’ll need to find an insurer in your new state that will file the certificate for you. Your insurer in Delaware won’t do this.
How a license suspension impacts your insurance in Delaware
If your license is suspended in Delaware, your insurance premiums will likely rise significantly when buying coverage upon reinstatement compared to what a driver with a clean record pays for standard auto insurance.
Your premiums will remain high for a while, but practicing safe driving habits and maintaining a spotless driving record will help to dramatically decrease your insurance rate over time.
Even though you’ll be faced with higher premiums upon reinstatement, it’s always a good idea to shop around for insurance to find the best rate you can.
SR22 Insurance by State
|Indiana||New Mexico||Washington D.C|
|Iowa||New York||West Virginia|